Anything Can Happen

music news and anything interesting

love makes the world go round…. July 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — eve @ 6:24 pm

9780230739468-01Nowadays people don’t write love letters any more, and the email and text messaging are death to romance.However in the past lovers in order to communicate used to write love letters and even great men such as Lord Byron, Napoleon Bonaparte and Mozart did. My favourite letter is Beethoven’s ones.He never married although did fall deeply in love with  one of his aristocratic pupilsThree passionate unsent love letters were found among his papers after his death ,addressed to his ‘Immortal Beloved’. There was no year on the letters and the identity of the ‘Immortal Beloved’ has not been conclusively established, although the most likely candidate is thought to be Antonie Brentano, a Viennese woman married to a Frankfurt merchant.     And here it is a small part :

Even in bed my ideas yearn towards you, my Immortal Beloved here and there joyfully then again sadly awaiting from Fate, whether it will listen to us. I can only ive either all together with you or not at all. Yes, I have determined to wander about for so long far away, until I can fly in to your arms and call myself quite at home with you, can send my soul enveloped by yours  into the realm of spirits – Yes, I regret , it must be. You will get over it all the more as you know my faithfullness to you;never another one can own my heart, never – never! O God, why must one go away from what one loves so,and yet my life in W. as it is now is a miserable life. Your love made me the happiest and unhappiest  at the same time. Angel, I just hear that the post goes out every day-and must close therefore,so that you get L at once. Be calm-love me -today – yesterday.

You-my Life- my All-farewell.

Oh go on loving me – never doudt the faithfullest heart

of  your beloved.

L

Ever thine.

Ever mine.

Ever ours.


 

One Response to “love makes the world go round….”

  1. Really touching words Eve, Beethoven was even more talented than people think!


Leave a Reply

